

Session 4 - India - The New Hub of Global Manufacturing

Thursday, September 22, 2022

1345 - 1445 Hrs

Panel



Dr Ajay Kumar Secretary Ministry of Defence Government of India

Dr Ajay Kumar joined the Indian Administrative Service in 1985 and is presently Defence Secretary of India since August 2019.

Dr Ajay Kumar is B Tech in Electrical Engineering from the Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur, India. He is M.S. Applied Economics from the University of Minnesota, USA and PhD in Business Administration from Carlson School of Management, University of Minnesota, USA. He was also conferred Hon. Doctor of Philosophy by Amity University in 2019.

Served in the State Government of Kerala in early years, he served in the Ministry of Communications and IT, as the Director General, National Informatics Centre (NIC) and as the Additional Secretary, Department of Electronics and Information Technology. Prior to assuming current appointment, he served in the Ministry of Defence as the Secretary, Department of Defence Production, from December 2017 to August 2019.

Dr Ajay Kumar has, to his credit, several publications in refereed national and international journals including at ICIS, IEEE, IJEC, HICCS etc. He was awarded the "Silver Elephant" medallion by National Scouts and Guides by His Excellency the President of India, in 1994. In the same year he also earned a

citation by the Hon'ble Prime Minister of India and was adjudged the "Outstanding Young Person" by the Junior Chamber of Kerala.

He earned the Graduate School Fellowship by the University of Minnesota, USA for the years 2004 and 2005. He was adjudged as the "Electronics Leader of the Year" for the year 2012 for promotion of electronics industry in the country. Was awarded the Technovation Sarabhai Award by IESA in 2015 for his outstanding contribution to ESDM Industry. Was awarded the 'Champion of Change' Award by CEAMA in 2017.

Was also awarded Distinguished Alumnus Award (DAA)-2019 of IIT Kanpur. He was conferred Fellowship of the Indian National Academy of Engineering (INAE) for his outstanding contributions to engineering and dynamic leadership in engineering domain which have immensely contributed for the faster development of the country with effect from November 1, 2021